In spite of the advances made in agriculture, mamy people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Notable advancement and amelioration in technology were made in the previous decades in the area of agriculture, such as the development of all kinds of farming machinery, and seeds which are more productive and pest-resistant. However, a considerable amount of people on Earth still habitually suffer from hunger. In this essay, we will try to shed some light on the possible reasons and solutions to this problem. First and foremost, we can see that the hunger problem mainly happens in the developing countries whilst the adoption of the agricultural technologies aforementioned mainly occurs in the developed countries. This sharp contradiction provokes a further question, the machinery and seeds reduce the average cost of food and so why are they not adopted by third -world countries? The reason is that there are other prohibitive costs encountered by the hungry third -world people. Admittedly, there are extreme occasions like locusts, the bigger factor is that the poorer countries usually lack the resources or a stable political environment to commit in the construction of infrastructure. Indeed, agriculture needs tons of infrastructure like water dams, water pipes, and goods roads to bring the seeds and fertilizers to the farmland and the harvested crops to the processing factories. Additionally, multiple storage facilities are also needed to accommodate additional crops during good harvests. In the absence of such facilities, farmers are in a high-risk and high-cost situation and very likely the production level is not high enough to feed people's mouths. In light of these, in order to alleviate the problems, developing countries should consider different ways to finance their infrastructure like dams and water pipes, which is understandably easier said than done. Still, more in-depth ideas, for example tax systems reforms to reduce tax evasions and seeking help from international organizations like the IMF, can be explored. In conclusion, there are deeper-level reasons like scarcity of water and lack of roads that lie beneath the starvation problem. Although these problems is literally insurmountable, at least to those developing countries, I still believe that, with some luck, the problems can be mitigated to a certain extent if we are heading towards a correct direction.