In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is often considered in some ethnic groups that youngsters are encouraged to put a large amount of effort if they desire to be successful. This essay will state the positive and negative implications of this view. On the one hand, there are some merits associated with the constant encouragement of a child to aim at their goal. Firstly, it encourages the child to be relentless even in the face of adversities. Parents want the best for their children and some young adults do need some extra push to perform well which makes them struggle even when they pass encounter a challenging situation especially if they know that there is a prize attached to it when they come out successful. For example, a child whose parents have promised a gift at the end of an academic session will strive hard to emerge as the best student so as to obtain that present from his or her parent. Secondly, this piece of advice influences their decision-making. This encourages the minor want to try new things and get out of their comfort zone as this in turn helps them to take certain steps in fulfilling their goals and work effectively with others as a team without being dependent on their guardians. On the other hand, pushing children to give their best shot does not come without its demerits. One major negative implication of this is that adolescents may suffer from stress and anxiety which can lead to more serious mental problems. Children are too young to handle pressure, once a child is over-pressured, it may lead a more detrimental psychological and medical issues. In addition, depression is another drawback attached to laying pressure on a growing child. Learning should be enjoyable and not stressful and when a child notice that he or she is not able to meet up with the demands needed to attain their aim, they end up becoming depressed and manifest suicidal thoughts and actions. To cite an instance, a parent may want their child to become a medical practitioner which differs from their own goal, and this may leave the youngster confused, depressed and even commit suicide when they can not achieve their parents' desire. In conclusion, there are some merits associated with pushing a child hard to attain heights such as persistence in face of challenging situations and prompt decision making as well as demerits in terms of its psychological impact as anxiety, depression and suicide in children that cannot actualize their plans.