The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to decrease the level of violent crime in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people suggested that the authorities should limit violence on the screens, and this results in less violent crime in our communities. In this essay, I will explain why I tend to disagree with this view. I concede that there could be some reasons for taking this step and perhaps the most obvious one is that it may well prevent teenagers from desensitised to violence. By curbing the amount of weapons and fighting they see on movies and televison shows, it potentially allows them to develop with more positive role models, and this can lower the incidence of violent crime. For example, in China, the government strictly controls the violent content. As such, there is some evidence that schoolchildren are less prone to fighting, which suggests that this messure arguably has a positive effect. Nevertheless, I believe, this action should not be taken for two main reasons. One is that it would amount to censorship and promote government interference in creative work. When this happens, it invariably prevents filmmakers from expressing their views fully, denying them the right to free speech, and what this can do is damage democracy. Another is that it could have limited effect on crime because most people consume media online, where censorship is limited. For instance, illegal downloading is extremely common around the world, and this ultimately enables consumers to see content with no restrictions. In conclusion, although governmental controls over on-screen violence could have some impact on crime rates, I still believe this effect is very little, therefore it should not be implemented.