International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

While it is true that gobal tourism has given birth to various benefits and provided gains for different localities, there is a growing concern of the negative impact of this trend on residents and the ecology of such localities. I believe that the good associated with international tourism overshadows the ills ascribed to it. Firstly, international travels and holidaying over time has successfully contributed immersely to the growth of various local economies. For instance, local hospitality industries have been able to generate funds from providing accomodations, local music and food. Also, people get rewards from sale of local crafts to foreign site seers and leissure seekers. Secondly, the experience of tourists at their many vacation destinations orientate them about the diverse cultural differences in the world as well as inculcate tollerance on the host community thus preventing, to an extent, future cultural shocks. The recreation provided by getting away from daily bustling of activities and participating in pleasurable activities cannot be jettisoned. Moreover, these activities recharge tourists for more productive activities later on. There are a number of negative consequences of influx of tourists on host communities. Chief among this is the exploitation of developing countries to suit the growing demands of citizens of more economically bouyant countries. Take for an example, an African country, in its quest to boost its revenue once sought to displace a whole indegenous community to buid a safari so as to cater for the growing demands of tourism. Another challenge that has stemed seemed out of these recreational voyages is deforestation and its attendant contribution to environmental degradation and climate change. Large vegetations are being destroyed to make room for camps and to provide wood fuel for campers. However, these problems are being tackled systematically and are not sufficient to deter societies and communities from reaping the benefits of international tourism. In conclusion, although the impact of trans-border tourism has both pros and cons, the pros far outweighs the cons and thus it should be encouraged.