Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, learning a foreign language has become increasingly popular among people. A part of the society believes that in order to travel to other countries or work overseas, one must learn a secondary language. While others think that learning a foreign vocabulary is not only limited to these reasons myself included. To begin with, learning a new language is considered a modern skill that is helpful for our communications nowadays. As we are living in a global village learning a new foreign language is necessary for different achievements in the future. I truly believe with the new language we can get acquainted with other cultures through books, articles, music and also interaction with verity native populations. Furthermore, making a progress in learning another language could make us feel more productive and pleased about ourselves and it would boost our self-confidence. Thus, foreign communication skills enable a person to explore more vast different cultural heritages by reading and listening to foreign materials. Other side believes that, the only reason for learning a new language is to improve the job conditions and travel. I do not agree with this view. First of all, in recent years technological advances progress in our daily routines and make them easier thus, mobile phone apps can help people to meet their basic needs in a foreign language such as travel conversations. Secondly, in the workplace besides the, language you also should have basic knowledge about the county’s cultural habits. In other words, although, speaking in a second language could be effective in work and travel, not the only reason. In conclusion, in addition to mother tongue, speaking in another language could be efficient in work promotion and easier travelling but not the only reasons behind learning a foreign accent.