There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this.

There is increasing development of married couples deciding to be childless. This essay will discuss how this decision will save them money and give them more freedom and how they might also suffer from boredom and might end up living with little to no support system in their old age. On one hand, the benefit of being a childfree couple is more freedom. Raising children is a lifetime responsibility and time-consuming, therefore costing freedom to do whatever they want. Being childless will give them more opportunities to do things they want to do such as travelling, taking risks in career changes etc. Moreover, raising a child is very expensive. In one of the research in Bangladesh, it is found that the cost of one day of childcare facility is more than the daily minimum wage. In other words, not many people can afford childcare and therefore such a decision of having no children will save them such expenses. On the other hand, childless couples might become bored in long term. They will get tired of doing the same routine again and again. Moreover, they might end up having no one to take care of them when they are old and weak. When one spouse dies, the other living partner will be by themselves and will have no one to look after them. An example from my own experience, a widowed woman who lived right across from my apartment was discovered unconscious at her home. She passed away a few weeks before she was found. She had no children and living families. In conclusion. married couples who choose to have child-free life will have more freedom to do things they want and save on expenses but will have to face boredom in near future and might end up having no one to look after them when they are old.