Shopping is now one of the most popular types of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why is this happening? Is this a positive or a negative development?

People always will search for new entertainment in their free time. Nowadays, shopping is the most important choice for young parents and young couples. This phenomenon occurs for some reasons. In this essay, I will mention some of them, and since that, I prefer other activities instead of shopping to spend my free time I will explain my point of view and then conclude. Today because of some reasons that one of them is the youth prefer to spend their leisure date with themselves. They believe that their taste has changed and activities such as studying a book, visiting their family members, doing exercise, watching an amazing film and so on,not according to their wishes so, they prefer to spend their free time shopping and buying any things even they prefer to eat their meal in the shopping centre. Another reason is consumerism, which despite the existence of some financial problems purchasing is a popular entertainment for some young people and of course, the existence of various goods has significant effects. For instance,for a teenager always there are new clothe or shoes which he attracts to it. Shopping is a good activity for each person if be suitable in terms of time. While in the contemporary era has been changed and sometimes become a routine habit and causes many problems. For example, youth prefer to do the shopping instead of attention to their health, have more study, do exercise and so on. All of the consequences create undesirable conditions in society. Therefore, it is negative progress in modern society.  In conclusion, I mentioned all reasons above, such as promoting consumerism. the capitalist system, as well as profit-making producers, encourage people to more consumption and it is a bad point in each society.