Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. sugary product should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that instant foods and artificially flavored beverages could contain high volume of sugariness, and which could be a root cause for many illnesses including diabetes, heart diseases and obesity. Apparently, as a remedy to the high sugar intake, some believe government should increase the prices of sweets containing products. However, others believe state should adopt alternative strategies to reduce consumption of sugar containing goods rather than increase prices of sugary products. I disagree with the given statement because mere increase in the price of sweet containing products will not necessarily reduce the sugar consumption of all communities of the country. In fact, it will rather reduce lower and lower middle income earners’ consumption while it will not significantly reduce the high-income earners’ consumption. Furthermore, this might even lead to a raise in the inflation level as well due to the high cost of the goods. Hence this will not be a sustainable solution to the discussed matter. Subsequently, availability of many effective alternatives such as sugar colour coding system could be mentioned as another reason for the disagreement to the given statement. Sugar colour code system, which is frequently known as sugar traffic light system, could be introduced to manufacturers for enhance the awareness of the sugary content of the foods and beverages. Accordingly, producers should label their products based on the contents of the sugar level. Red, green, and yellow colours could be used to indicate high, medium, and low contents respectively. Consequently, public will aware regarding the levels of sweetness and they can act accordingly to limit their daily sweets intake. In a nutshell, it is wiser to enhance the awareness and educate the public regarding the consequences of excessive sugar intake rather than limit consumers’ purchasing power to buy products.