Nowadays young people know less about traditions and culture than in the past. What are the reasons for it? Is this positive development or a negative development?

In recent years, youngsters have become less aware of traditions and culture than in previous times. There are numerous reasons for this phenomenon, but the main causes are the advance in technology and the education system. From my perspective, I believe this issue has a bad influence on society. To begin with, the modern world is responsible for the unawareness of young adults about traditions. To explicate, exposure to a novel environment fascinates youngsters that they believe the latest things are more attractive than the traditional values. For instance, the Internet is a strange area to people, thus making them absorbed into it. As a consequence, they are not willing to learn about these past belongings and tend to ignore them. Furthermore, the education system not focusing on teaching students about knowledge of traditions and cultures is also another factor leading to this problem. Students often spend one- third of the day learning at school and educational institutes. However, there is no lesson guiding pupils to find out more about traditional values and how to preserve them. Even if they want to know more about that field after school, they are burdened with their homework. I personally think that this development has detrimental effects on the community. Traditions and cultures are considered the soul of a nation as they represent the existence of that country. Ì the young generation knows less about the conventional culture, a nation will gradually disappear and easily lóe ít independence. Otherwise, providing that residents have a solid knowledge of the cultural values, the country will become stronger in many ways. Take Vietnam as an example, although this country had been invaded by France for more than 100 years, thanks to the preservation and awareness of traditional valuation, it defeated colonialists and gained its independence. To sum up, I would like to state that there s a need to preserve our past history and traditions so that the upcoming generation will know more about their inheritance. Also, this problem may bring various disadvantages, so governments, as well as individuals, should join hands to deal with it.