Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at increasing sales. Others think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Advertising has been used for centuries by companies to sell their goods, using different platforms such as newspapers, television, and, more recently, the internet. While many people advocate that this strategy has been overused and, therefore, consumers ignore it, others disagree and argue that this is an efficient marketing strategy. Those who disbelieve in the value of publicity point out some arguments. Firstly, it could be inconvenient to watch commercials, particularly during work activities. For instance, it is very disturbing when we are checking our emails or reading important texts and those publicities pop up in our browser sidebars offering all sorts of things from pot plants to food To avoid those distractions, many people either develop mental strategies or use apps to block them. Secondly, in our modern society, where people are busy and do not have much time for leisure, consumers do not want to spend hours watching commercials. Indeed, several streaming platforms such as Netflix or Amazon acknowledge this and do not display any publicity during movies and series. Although I agree that we are overwhelmed by advertising, I do not believe it is ineffective and it will be vanished. We may think that we are not paying attention to it, but several scientific studies have been published on this topic, and they showed that commercials reach our subconscious, and it can be enough to trigger our willingness to buy products. Furthermore, as new media platforms are being developed, companies find novel commercial strategies, notably social media, and digital influencers. The latter is particularly appealing among the young audience, as adolescents may think that their social circle would not accept them if they did not have a specific product that a famous person posted on Instagram. In a nutshell, publicity may be annoying for many individuals. However, not only are companies clever to find alternative ways to use it, but it also has some neurological components that make it highly efficient.