Some experts believe that when a country is already rich, any additional increase in economic wealth does not make its citizens any more satisfied. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely thought that people living in overdeveloped countries cannot be more content with any further economic advancement. From my perspective, I totally agree with this statement for the following reasons. Firstly, it is important to acknowledge a fact that the advancement in national prosperity is directly proportional to the expenses of commodities. Undeniably, the more thriving the citizens of a country are, the more extravagant the products and services become, and the harder the lives of the needy could be. Hence, the enrichment of a state is not always synonymous with the guarantee of betterment in living standards. An example of this justification is India, where a significant number of residents live in poor conditions due to the difficulties in accessing products and services which are essential to their well-being. Another point that needs to be taken into consideration is that economic success is not the sole constituent of satisfaction. In fact, several countries in the world have focused on their people’s mental wholesomeness, which can partially be obtained by granting them opportunities to enjoy lives via social welfare and other benefits, as a new priority since that is an indispensable aspect of life apart from monetary richness. Therefore, not only do they become materially satisfied but also mentally fulfilled. For instance, Canada has an effective welfare system that enables its citizens to work for a fixed and reasonable amount of time weekly so that they will have more time to spend with families and friends without overthinking about work and personal financial issues. In conclusion, a mere additional increase in economic wealth in developed countries hardly satisfies their citizens any further for the aforementioned reasons.