Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child’s development while others think that it is important for children to go to school. Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion.

In the past decade, many countries have regulated homeschooling as a legal way of providing education to children. Conversely, many academics and teachers’ unions have found homeschooling highly problematic. This essay will present these two points of view. Supporters of homeschooling point out some advantages. First, they argue that pupils attending home school might receive more tailored instruction to address specific needs in amor. Moreover, some people advocate that if students received instruction at home, they would improve their bonds with their families. Additionally, many parents are worried about bullying and other types of violence that may take place in schools. Therefore, by attending homeschools, they would be protected from these threats. Although the above arguments are plausible, I do not believe they outweigh the disadvantages. Families and schools have different and complementary duties in children’s education. Family is the place for care and non-curricular learning within a private environment. School is the space for curricular knowledge, and it is the main public space where they socialise and embrace diversity. Furthermore, not only do many parents lack the skills and expertise to teach all the different subjects that students need, but also several facilities are not available for homeschooling, such as labs and sports courts. While it is valid the concern about bullying in the school environment, at home is also where violence occurs. Indeed, many authorities, such as UNICEF, have reported that home is the main location where kids suffer violence, and schools might be the safest place where those kids could ask for help. In conclusion, at a first glance, homeschooling might be an attractive form to provide education to children, but in a more detailed analysis, not only are several disadvantages for their academic future, but also it may jeopardise their well-being. ¬