The best way to solve traffic and transportation problem is to encourage people to live in cities rather than suburbs and countryside. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic is a major problem in almost every country around the world.Some believe that encouraging people to live in cities will solve this problem. I strongly agree with this argument and this essay will state the behind it. Firstly, when people move to cities it will reduce the congestion significantly as they can use public transport such as trams, buses or they can either walk or cycle because they live close to the workplace. This will therefore be beneficial for health and the environment. For instance, based on a research done by the University of Colombo Sri Lanka more than 63% of the workers spend more than an hour in traffic and for,some it cost more than half of their salary. Therefore, if people live in cities it will lower the traffic and the expenditure will reduce substantially. Secondly, living closer to the workplace is more efficient and effective than living in countryside or suburban areas. People will be more productive when living close to the cities due to less travel time. To exemplify, it is easy for the workers who live close to their workplace to maintain work-life balance because they can commute to and from work quickly and therefore it will encourage them. In conclusion, encouraging people to move to cities is vital to reduce traffic congestions and i completely agree with it.