More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why is this? Who benefits more from this, the communities or these young people?

Ostensibly, an increasing number of youngsters are inclined towards spending time volunteering in third world countries in order to provide education and shelter. There are multifarious reasons behind this such as self contentment as well as a help in their research work. Certainly, this trend assists communities more than such individuals. To begin with, in order to find an internal peace, individuals from rich countries are inclined to spend time in financially weak countries. To cite an example, a painstaking survey conducted by The Guardian Newspaper in March, 2015 revealed that 45% of young people from the UK felt internally satisfied that they assisted the people of third world countries in teaching and providing essential items. Hence, this trend has certainly increased their confidence as well. In addition, this helping time may help them to grab pragmatic knowlegde of such nations as well as to make projects to get high grades in their studies. That being said, the poorer nations in return can get many benefits from this phenomenon. Primarily, a young teacher from a developed nation can educate thousands of students of developing nations which can change the future of many children in a short span of time. In fact, if these teachers bring advanced educational equipment, it may help the students to adopt technological changes quickly. To exemplify, how to operate computers and 3D projectors can be a blessing for the students. Moreover, a help in the construction of houses to these nations is certainly a great relief because this is the fundamental requirement of every person. If citizens of developing nations have their own houses, there may be less chances of sickness and they can think about their growth also. To conclude, It is unequivocal that the trend of giving time to help poorer nations in education and housing has many merits for both parties. However, the economically weaker countries may get more benefits as a small number of professionals from developed countries assist a lot of citizens.