Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Since the development of vehicles in the 1800s, moving from one place to another has never been easier. However, with the rise in traffic and pollution concerns, many feel that by increasing the amount of petrol, the problem will be a thing of the past. This essay will discuss why I completely agree to the notion and suggest other effective methods. A surge in petrol prices will not only reduce traffic and pollution issues but will also promote the use of other modes of transportation. When motorists cannot afford to pay for fuel, they have no other choice than to take the bus, train, ride bicycles or even walk to their destination. Take Canada for example, since the Canadian Road Safety Commission adopted such a method, they have not only observed a drop in traffic jams but also clearer air as roads are more spacious than ever before. If all countries took in the footsteps of Canada, I believe that the need for annual widen roads and wearing masks will no longer be necessary. In addition to increasing the price of petrol, constant road repair and monthly servicing of vehicles should be considered. This is because potholes are one of the key factors to slowing down motors on roads. For instance, in one of the cities in Nigeria, Lagos, it takes motorists not less than thirty mins longer to reach any destinations across the city as roads are bad. Also, the government should strictly monitor the monthly servicing of all cars as those vehicles are more likely to increase air pollution. Fines and other consequences should be put in place to deal with motor owners who fail to comply. In conclusion, although traffic and pollution problems continue to rise, I believe that by adopting measures such as increasing fuel prices, regular road repair and monthly car maintenance, we can curb the situation.