Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The choices we make have major influences on a child ’s development. Some are of the belief that allowing children the freedom of choice will lead to selfish adults, while others think that a child should be given the right to choose. In my opinion, a child should be involved in decisions regarding their life. Parents believe that a child should not be a part of the decision-making process as it breeds an independent society. Many children who are allowed the freedom to do whatever they want tend to be more self-absorbed. This might lead to a loss of community. Additionally, youngsters are easily manipulated by advertisements, resulting in them asking for all they see in the media. If all their wishes are indulged, they may become more demanding and spoilt. For instance, my niece is very demanding because she gets everything is wants and throws tantrums if her wishes are not done because she has been raised that way. For these reasons, parents choose to decide for their wards. On the other hand, young ones should be allowed a choice, especially in matters that pertain to their future. Young people are smart and are aware of their environment and from a certain age can make sensible decisions. Intersex individuals, for example, who undergo surgery at an early age often hate their parents because they were not given a chance to choose which organs should be retained. This puts a strain on the family's relationship. Furthermore, studies have shown that allowing choices aid in the mental development of the child and can also increase both their Intelligence quotient and their emotional quotient and they are more decisive as they grow older. In conclusion, It is imperative to involve children in decision-making as it plays a major role in their development and also helps foster familial relations.