Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There has been a constant debate about whether university students should learn multiple subjects or focus solely on one qualification. In my opinion, I strongly agree that the profits of gaining knowledge in distant fields cannot be neglected. On the one hand, nowadays, many scientific breakthroughs are the results of multiple majors contributing to a specific cause which is why many enlistments/ students are studying multiple majors simultaneously under consideration. A recent study demonstrates that more than half of the research conducted now is a product of compounding 2 to 3 subjects, hence, it would be beneficial if students are prepared with knowledge of different subjects. On the other hand, many people with a more conventional mindset would argue that multi-tasking will cause distraction for current students. In fact, not everyone is capable of these huge responsibilities so they rather broaden their knowledge in only one subject. For example, a study by Ophir, Nass, and Wagner (2009) found that heavy media multitaskers performed worse on tasks requiring sustained attention and task-switching capabilities. Thus, it is evident that attempting to manage multiple academic subjects can similarly impair a student’s ability to focus and retain information. Moreover, there is also the risk of not being qualified to get a degree since many students immerse themselves in the process of juggling various tasks that would heighten their chance of failing them all. It is true that a survey of university graduates in the US showed that students make more notable progress if they focus on one qualification. In a nutshell, there is controversy around the matter of studying several subjects as a university admission. Even though it is believed by some to be problematic, others believe that the pros of this scheme prevail over the cons. I tend to side with the second group due to the factors that have been elaborated on in this essay.