In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them. Why might be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In some cultures, owning dwellings such as houses, or apartments is preferable to renting them. There are numerous plausible reasons for this belief, and this essay will present them and discuss the positive aspects of owning a home. Historically, owning properties has been associated with status and power. For instance, the rent of homes was used in the past as a form of domination and exploitation of the richest over the poor. Even the English term used to refer to the person that owns a dwelling brings this connotation: “Landlord”. This idea remains nowadays, many people believe that they would reach a higher social status if they had an owned house. However, many people choose to buy a house because it has some positive aspects, which I personally agree with. Owning a dwelling is an extremely valuable and safe investment. Usually, the real estate market suffers from lower fluctuations than the stock market, therefore, it is unlikely that by buying a house a person would lose a lot of money. Indeed, in some cities across the globe, after the COVID-19 pandemic, the real estate business had an incredible valorization. Moreover, by having your own house, you can apply different renovations to adapt to your lifestyle, which usually is not possible in rental properties. Finally, when we buy a house not only is it a safe investment for ourselves, but also for our relatives, as this type of propriety can be in families for many generations. In conclusion, in spite of the fact that owning proprieties has some historical controversies, owning a house is a valuable asset and on no account should we let these precepts of the past shame people of acquiring dwellings.