In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customer travels to large shopping center and mall to do shopping. Is it a positive or negative development?

It has been noticed that many hypermarket centres exchanged small local shops recently because people started shopping from large markets more frequently and this led small markets to be closed. I believe this is a negative development for a few reasons that will be discussed in this essay. To start with, this had a huge drawback for people who live in the same area because these small markets are easy to access and convenient for their neighbourhood. In fact, usually local shops contain all the necessities and provide merchandise that may be required for urgent needs with fresh expiry. For instance, in our neighbourhood, we have a small convenience store where I collect my items and grocery in a daily basis whenever I need them. Thus, small shops prevent people from travelling long distances to bring a few items that have simple needs. Furthermore, the closing of small shops may affect the economy of a country for the reason that these shops consider private businesses that have enormous participation in the economy. To illustrate, it is common in the Middle East that local shops, such as Noor market that familiar to the locals, have more visitors than the big international markets that have various of products. Hence, increase in the price of products once the economical crises occur due to the closure of small markets. To conclude, when people started to travel to malls more frequently for shopping, negative consequences appeared accordingly. This affects locals directly and the economy indirectly and I hope this action would be stopped in foreseen future.