There is a shortage of housing in many countries and this can lead to severe social Consequences. Only governments can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the only the state can provide solutions to the problems caused by housing shortages. I believe that governments can be an important factor in solving housing-related issues but there are also other bodies and institutions, such as charities, which could help. The first point which must be addressed is the extent to which governments can help provide answers to the housing crisis. At the state level there are many more resources to tackle issues such as homelessness and poverty, two serious consequences of housing shortages. Local and national government bodies can provide financial support in the form of rent payments as well as temporary housing to those people who find themselves homeless or facing poverty. While state intervention is useful, it is important to note that governments are not the only institutions which are seen to help. Charities and not-for-profit institutions are pivotal in their involvement in this area because, at the national and governmental level, bureaucracy can often restrict the speed and efficiency of providing the aforementioned solutions. In my country, we are still waiting for additional housing which was promised by our government over five years ago. This is where charities can assist as they are often the groups which help and support people if they are made homeless. They provide shelters and refuges which, while often only temporary, are a critical safety net for society and allow people to get back on their feet. In conclusion, housing shortages can very often lead to problems such as homelessness and poverty. Governments have the power to solve problems but they are often bureaucratic which is why we, as a society, very often rely on charities to fill the gaps where the state cannot intervene.