A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defence but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

Recently, there are different types of crimes reported on TV such as shooting rampage in the states. Some people argue that the authorities should invest more in law enforcement to ensure the safety of their citizens rather than squandering money on social benefits. In my point of view, I totally disagree with this assertion. I believe that the responsibility should be taken by not only the government but also every member of society. First of all, even though law enforcement agencies could act as a deterrent to the culprits, they can not be able to cover all types of crimes on time. For example, a documentary has reported that counterfeit cosmetics cause a serious damage to the users but there is only two police officers dedicated to address this problem. Rather than moving moeny from other ciritical sectors, it is more important and pressing to raise the public the awareness of counterfeit cosmetics.Thereby, it also could have a beneficial impact on the safety of society. On the other hand, social benefits are essential and indispensable for a stable community. For instance, people those do not have access to health care are unlikely to care for others. If resources of social benefits were reduced, it might cause acute shortage of health care. Even the safety of society is high, people still suffer from physical ailments. This could cause a detrimental impact on the society. Therefore, social benefits is the cornerstone of a society. In conclusion, the government should not move budget from social benefits to ensure safety because social benefits are the cornerstone of a stable society although societal saftey is important.