Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

With the advances in technology, there are numerous mediums providing individuals to show their opinions in public and connect with friends more conveniently and efficiently. However, it is commonly considered that social media is the detriment of the public and society. I totally agree with this perspective, since it results in negative impacts on people mentally and physically. In modern times, because of the anonymous system on social networking sites, people leave comments irresponsibly which may be harmful to someone. Although it is indisputable and irrefutable that everyone has the right to express his feeling on the internet, these anonymous critics online pose a threat to those people ’s mentality which may even bring about some mental health. Apart from this, it can be seen that users grow jealous of those who seem to have a wonderful life, which in fact, most of them only show the bright side. Another reason why networking sites such as Facebook or Instagram are detrimental to the public is that people are unconcerned about everything around them. Although it is no effort in connecting with others at any time by using such a medium, it makes individuals only focus on these platforms. This can be especially observed in a friend’s gathering, where people tend to stare at their smartphones instead of having a conversation with each other. If the public were to keep doing this, the world would be only left with the cold humans who only talk to their electronic devices and send messages on social media. In summary, while it is undeniable that these sites give us many conveniences, it causes truly enormous damage to people ’s mentality and society. In this case, instead of over-relying on it, it is better to strike a balance between the virtual world and real life.