The tradition that family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

Over the past few decades, there has been a decrease in the tradition of families eating meals together. It is believed that this is the highest rate ever seen. This essay will present the underlying causes of the mentioned phenomenon and highlights its effects on people's lives. There are several factors leading to the decline of family members eating together. Firstly, people are getting busier. Nowadays, the amount of work has increased significantly, many workers want to get more money so they always try to work as much as possible, which leads to a lack of family meals. Another reason is that fast food is getting more popular. Many teenagers who have sedentary lifestyles would prefer delicious fast food rather than home-cooked meals. Fast food has an affordable price, furthermore, it is everywhere. This is the reason why people decide to eat out. Lack of family meals can have adverse effects on people ’s physical and mental health. First, it would have a bad effect on family bonding. Each family member is not so close, and they will be listless to each other, making it easier to have bad relationships and leading to unethical results. Second, by eating out too much, people can have some chronic illnesses. For example, as body fat percentage increases, the person’s metabolism worsens, resulting in diabetes or heart disease. In conclusion, the disappearance of family meals can lead to many bad effects. If not addressed immediately, this phenomenon will have an overreaching effect on many people."