Some people think that only electric cars should be allowed on the road by 2040. Do you agree?

Electric cars are in the top discussion today as this technology is considered to be promising for a better future. For,me the major outcome of changing all the cars to electric by 2040 will be a pollution-free world, so my argument will be based on this as well. As we know, all the major types of fuel which are being used in the cars today are the products that come out of fossils which contribute a lot to air pollution, So if we are looking towards a better future then we need to think about promoting the electric cars and absolute approach must be to replace current mode of transportation to electric substitutes. To give more strength to the argument in favour of electric cars I would like to mention one more thing which is noise pollution, because cars which we have currently on the road make lots of noise as the engine of these cars have to work harder to burn the fuel and generate the energy at the other hand electric car are noise-free or makes very less noise compared to what we have today. As every coin has two sides so we have counter-argument as well, electric cars will be needing battery which consists mainly of rare earth elements like lithium, So we need to take this also in consideration, changing all the cars to electric by 2040 will only be feasible only when we are using the resources wisely, it should not be like we stop mining the one resources and exploiting the other one. Also, to charge the cars we would require the electricity, now this will again become a problem if generating electricity is producing the same or more pollution, so all in all whatever substitute we are thinking of must be pollution-free and cost-effective. As my closing the argument I can say we must aim for this goal but at the same time we must analyse the underlying architecture on which thing whole thing will be based.