These days it is much easier for many people to travel to different countries for tourism than in the past. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the advancement in transportation technology has enabled people to visit any country in the world. In my opinion, I believe that the benefits of tourism outweigh the drawbacks it might bring. There are several benefits of tourism. Firstly, it increases the economic activities in the country under consideration. When a lot of people travel to popular destinations of the country, not only the local economy benefits from the tourists but also the national economic figure gets a boost. For example, tourists spend a huge sum of money when they travel, as a result, the host country earns income. Secondly, the people who travel also get amusement from their tour. As workload in our workplace increases, our mental stress level also skyrockets with it. Thus, traveling individuals can get relief easily by visiting a popular tourist destination. Nevertheless, despite the advantages above there are also some disadvantages related to the tourism industry. When a lot of people travel to a single popular place, there might be a chance to pollute the surrounding environment. In other words, people usually purchase different types of foods which are packed in plastic or polythene, and they discard these waste materials to the water or soil around the place. Consequently, the environment gets polluted. Another point to consider is that illegal activities may develop around the tourist spots. Activities like robbery, burglary, and drug abuse sometimes become common practice around the targeted place. While traveling, people carry their expensive items such as smartphones, laptops, and cameras, and there are high possibilities that tourists can be robbed of those precious items. To sum up, although there are few drawbacks of tourism, I think the advantages of traveling to other countries outweigh the disadvantages.