Today‘s children are living under more pressure from the society than children in the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is argued that today’s pupils are more stressed than the ones in the past. This essay completely agrees with the statement. As far as I am concerned, today’s children face risks that lead to stress and anxiety and this is why they are highly likely to live under pressure. This essay will discuss what society has to do with pupils’ well-being and why they differ from children in the past. To begin with, the community has a major impact on children ’s development. However, they may feel anxious because of the expectations society has of them. In fact, everyone expects them to be academically active, ecologists, to behave properly, and so on. Naturally, people’s demands damage children ’s well-being and make them live under constant pressure. Unfortunately, a study shows that, over the years, pupils' self-esteem significantly decreased because of the fear of not fully achieving people’s expectations. On the other hand, today’s children deal with more risks than the ones in the past. Moreover, they can join inappropriate groups of friends and be encouraged to do harmful activities which transform into addictions. Clearly, these addictions negatively influence them and the fact that children in the past were not exposed to so many negative effects makes today’s pupils live under pressure. For instance, a magazine published an article about the differences between generations and the results supported that, due to the constant development of the technology and not only, today’s generation is predisposed to be more stressed and anxious. In conclusion, children from the past were privileged due to the lack of potential risks. This is why today’s generation is sadder and more stressed. Furthermore, I consider that society has a significant role in both causing and ameliorating children ’s symptoms of anxiousness.