In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Competitive battles between companies these days are harder than ever before. Therefore it is no surprise that businesses praise their products as somehow new in their advertisements. I think this is a positive trend, especially if you want to have a chance on the market. If we take the beauty industry as an example, the pressure of surviving in this business is huge. There are hundreds of brands on the market, each bigger and more powerful than the other. To get a place there and hold your head up you need to develop either new products or at least tell the people it is new. For instance by using a new package or changing a single ingredient. For companies to declare products as new is a good way to raise the sales while save money at the same time because sometimes the product is identical. They might just change the colour of an item. This automatically leads to a better financial situation which helps to develop actual new products. A good example is a hyaluronic acid. The effect it has on your skin is known for years but it was rarely spoken about it. But one big brand someday decided to tag it as a new beauty treatment and has been successful with it. In conclusion, if you want to establish yourself in nowadays business world and furthermore, want to grow, you have to find ways to sell your products in the best possible way. Emphasize these as new although they might not be.