Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative delvelopment?

It is true that children are spending a huge amount of their time on their digital devices like smartphones. There are several reasons behind this trend, and in my opinion, I believe it is a completely detrimental situation overall. There is a range of reasons why young people give a lot of time on their smartphones. To begin with, the advancement of technology has made children's life interesting, and children can easily download games like free fire from the internet. As a result, these games consume a lot of their time. Secondly, videos from youtube have become a common source of amusement for young people. When children need to watch some funny videos, they can easily view those from that source, ultimately killing their time. Finally, there is also another reason why children spend a large amount of time on smartphones which is social media. For example, by chatting and video calling a vast amount of time is spent by young people. I believe that spending hours after hours on smartphones is a deleterious activity for children. Children can develop eye problems like irritation in the eyes as a result of spending a longer time on this device. They might go to doctors for this issue. Another problem can arise when they spend long hours on phones which is the decline in social and cognitive ability. As children waste a lot of time on smartphones, they have less time to spend with their friends or family members who are crucial for their physical and mental fitness, therefore, reducing their communication skills. Furthermore, if children give much time on digital devices, their academic performances will decline. To sum up, spending a huge amount of time on smartphones is definitely a negative development, and there have certain reasons behind this trend.