Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem.

The recent increase in recidivism prompted calls for officials to curb the issue. In fact, there are numerous reasons contributing to the problem, while some argue it is the lack of help provided to offenders, others say it is difficult for criminals to turn over a new leaf. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons causing the phenomenon and solutions to it. Embark upon, one of the fundamental underlying factors is the lack of opportunities provided for offenders. For instance, after returning to society most criminals struggle to find a job due to their criminal records, and employers are sceptical about them. As a result, they have no choice but to use illegal methods to earn money. Furthermore, some suggest there is a biological bias in criminal offenders such as the lack of empathy, consequently, criminals may fail to learn from their mistakes, causing more crimes to be committed. Therefore, the government has to provide support to offenders so that recidivism would reduce. To begin with, the state should provide training programs since it could improve the competitiveness of workers in the labour market. For example, lessons on computer skills would teach pupils how to use software such as word, excel. Nevertheless, the government could provide educational talks and subsidies to employers so as to reduce stereotypes and encourage them to hire offenders who have reformed themselves. All in all, repeatedly committing crimes does not solely have a single cause, hence, in order to prevent it from happening, the government should provide as much help as possible.