Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand, what measurements can governments and individuals take to respong to this problem?

The imbalance of fresh water supply and its demand is one of the worldwide issues that has grown in recent years. This essay will discuss some of the causes of this problem and try to offer some solutions to respond to this problem. To begin with, it is undeniable that overpopulation is the major cause of the increased demand for fresh water. The fast growth of the population in many countries in the world means more and more people need fresh water for daily activities such as drinking and cooking. In addition, a lot of people have not been educated about the danger of wasting water. Furthermore, industrialized society has increased the level of pollution in some freshwater resources, so much that they cannot be used anymore. It results in a further imbalance of supply and demand. To solve this problem, a collective effort from the government and the society as a whole is needed. Firstly, as the policy maker, the government of countries with fast-growing populations will have to create certain rules to slow down the growth. As shown by countries such as China and India, this approach is possible to execute. Secondly, the government should establish and implement a law that could protect the environment, especially freshwater resources, from industrialization. Lastly, it is important to educate people about the urgency of reducing water waste. In conclusion, overpopulation and industrialization are the two major causes of the growing demand for freshwater worldwide. This problem can only be solved if both government and individuals work together as a team.