Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the impacts on society and families?

In recent years, many young couples choose to delay parenthood. In this essay, I will highlight factors which contributes to late childbearing and analyse its impacts. The younger generation prefer to give birth at a later stage of their lives because of the high cost of living. It has become increasingly difficult to raise a child in modern society. Other than providing basic necessities, parents also have to send their offspring for talent development programmes to bring out the potential of their children. In this way, they will be able to compete with their peers in the future. Unfortunately, this expenditure is beyond the means of the youth. Therefore, it is logical for couples to postpone childbearing. However, delaying parenthood has given rise to several issues. First, it reduces the productivity of the workforce. With a lower birth rate, there will be not enough youngsters to replace elder workers. The vacancies in workplaces will eventually cause productivity to decline. Having children later in their lives will also jeopardise women’s health. It is scientifically proven that when females give birth later, they will have a higher risk of getting high blood pressure and cardiac arrest. In the worse scenario, a mother-to be may even lose her life because of a difficult delivery. If this happens, it will have a devastating impact on a family. In conclusion, the young choose to have babies later because they cannot afford its financial costs. However, this decision has many repercussions. Not only does it undermine the productivity of the workforce, it will also put the interests of mothers-to-be at stake.