Smoking can cause serious illnesses and should be made illegal. To what extent agree or diagree?

People suffer from adverse diseases due to smoking, and that is why it should not be legal. I completely agree that people must make their decisions about whether they smoke or not. There are many reasons why it is thought that keeping tobacco should be illegal. Firstly, smoking has an impact on not only individuals who smoke but also around them because they are passive smokers. That is, it causes numerous illnesses, such as heart disease, lung cancer, and so on. Secondly, children can access tobacco as easily as adults. They lead them to be addicted at young ages. Thirdly, a cigarette should be banned because there are no benefits to society and the environment. For example, due to the fact that citizens who live in New Zealand can not buy cigarettes, the crime rate in this country is less than in other ones, and they have high welfare. Thus it is thought that smoking should be illegal. On the other hand, if the government control usage of smoking, buying or selling a pocket cigarette is illegal. However, residents make their decisions whether they smoke or not instead of the government. While there are many unhealthy foods and drinks, such as alcohol, fast food, and junk food, they are not prohibited by the state. Moreover, banning smoking cannot mean that citizens do not use it. That is, even if tobacco is illegal, people can continue smoking. Take the drug as a clear example, it is used in most countries, although illegal. Therefore, individuals should decide how much they consume. In conclusion, although cigarettes have many disadvantages for people ’s health, individuals should be allowed to smoke. In my point of view, the government would educate people regarding the harmful effects of smoking.