The government should control the internet to reduce cybercrime and ensure safety of users. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

There are a plethora of issues that have led to the lamenting of citizens, cybercrime is one of them. The authorities of countries have been summoned on daily basis to help curb these treacherous acts from malicious individuals. I completely agree that these situations should be attended to as people are oftentimes being defrauded and younglings influenced negatively. To begin with, fraud has been the order of the day. Individual persons mostly fall victim to this, leading to loss of properties and money. These fraudsters hijack their financial account through corrupt online links created for this purpose. When these links are clicked on, personal details will unravel and then be hacked. For instance, the vanguard newspaper of Nigeria has reported zillions of incidents whereby private information such as passwords and I.D numbers have been copied from the target's phones or laptops and used for their selfish interest. Hence the need for the government to step in, in order to mitigate this phenomenon. Moreover, youngsters are not left out in this due to the fact that they also have access to this seamless and uninterrupted internet connections. Their activities on this web are seldomly monitored, as a result, they can log into ungodly sites which can adversely affect their behaviour in the long run. For example, some children in my locality were caught red-handed watching pornography movies on one of their mobile phones. Therefore, the authorities of various regions should ensure that ingress to these web pages should be age-restricted. In conclusion, I agree with the fact that government must put all stringent measures in place to ensure users' safety reduce fraudulent attitudes from certain citizens and also restrict easy online access to youngsters.