Some languages spoken by very few people are losing their importance and may become extinct completely. Is it a good or a bad development? What are the reasons for this?

Ostensibly, a number of languages are on the verge of extinction because the number of people who speak the languages has gradually decreased. Since it is a threat to the professionals of such languages along with its related cultures, this is not a welcoming trend. This essay will delve deeper into the reasons behind such a phenomenon in the impending paragraphs. To begin with, the decrease in the number of speakers for less popular languages is considered a negative development because it can adversely impact those connected to it professionally. To cite an example, a survey conducted by The Guardian newspaper in March 2015 revealed that 35% of teachers and workers had been facing issues finding jobs because they completed their degrees in regional languages. Hence, such a trend may make the related people unemployed. In addition, if a language continues to observe the decrease in its speakers, the culture related to it will certainly be extinct. Because languages are considered the way to transfer cultural values from one generation to another so it is not a good development at all. Further, the main reason behind this unsuitable development for these languages is the impact of the professional world and the related languages. For example, internationally accepted languages like English and Mandarin supersede the importance of regional language and fluent people of such languages can get jobs easily. Thus, more and more people are inclined towards these jobs than their own regional languages. In addition, there is a lack of government support to save these languages. When teachers of such languages get no money, they may shift their career and ultimately there is no one to teach these languages. Gradually, it ramps up the extinction process of the less spoken languages. To conclude, it is unequivocal that due to the influence of international languages and the absence of government aid, the number of people and the importance of some languages are decreasing constantly which is obviously a bad development and may be a danger to the existence of these languages.