In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some countries, it is often argued that offspring have the abilities to reach any goal if they do they best. From one point of view, this approach may truly encourage them to achieve higher targets, however, on the other hand unachievable goals might be a source of negative ramifications, for instance, psychological issues. There is a defensible basis for the argument that encouraging offspring have a positive impact on their self-confidence, which subsequently may help them to concentrate on a hard work. For instance, if a child would like to be a doctor, but they lack confidence, there is a space for parent’s support. To elaborate this further, parents may support their offspring by telling examples of how they reached their own goals through everyday hard work when they were their age. Moreover, this way of nurturing may train them to not give up on any life circumstances, as they are not always pleasant. In the other words, not everything might be achievable on the first try. Therefore, it is sometimes inevitable to work harder to reach the desired goal. Despite these advantages, such an approach to upbringing may cause severe negative consequences. For instance, repeated failure to achieve an unrealistic goal, such as becoming a millionaire, may be a source of isolation, anxiety or even depression. Linked to this, these children may need the care of a psychologist in the future. Another possible drawback is that these children may harbour a misconception about themselves, that they are something more in comparison with their counterparts, which is not true, understandably. To conclude, from the aforementioned way of upbringing, this approach may help children to reach higher targets, however it may have negative ramifications on their psychic or how they treat others.