In a number of countries, some people think it is unnecessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Other believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

People in some nations have differing opinions on the expenditure of the government on different transport systems. Some believe that building an inter-city rail network equipped with fast trains is important while others argue that the funds should be allocated for upgrading the current public transport systems. I support the latter view as it is more beneficial to society. On one hand, the creation of new railway lines that connects to other cities would make inter-city commute easier and quicker. This would allow more people to be able to visit far places in a shorter period of time, as buses and taxis usually take longer to reach the destined location due to situations like traffic accidents and bad roads. Trains facilitate inter-city trade. Businesses thrive as goods can be easily transported to other cities. It is also relatively safer and cheaper. On the other hand, the refurbishment of public transport such as the current roads, buses, and trains will be much more useful to the community and is also cost-effective. If the money is used to develop the current system, people will find it easier to navigate the whole city. The funds should be spent on fixing old trains, buying more buses, repairing roads and railway tracks, expansion of roads and building bridges. These methods would combat traffic congestion, one of the main problems faced by today's society. This, in turn, would lead to a better quality of life as stress is diminished. The less privileged would also benefit as public transport is cheaper than owning a car. To conclude, the money is better suited to be employed in the development of present public transport.