Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

More and more unwell people are hesitant to consult their family doctor and instead prefer optional remedies and procedures. In my opinion, they are taking a risk, and it is harmful to their health. One of the cardinal reasons why sick people prefer alternative treatment instead of their physician is to prevent the side effects. To be precise, most modern medicines come with side effects, and people have to go through lots of pain and unpleasant experience during the treatment. For instance, chemotherapy treatment in the case of Cancer is effective; however, it has lots of side effects such as tiredness, sore mouth, etcetera. Therefore, people try to avoid such modern science treatment and go for age-old Chinese medicine treatment, which involves consuming some rare herbs as it does not have side effects and intense pain. Another tangible reason why unwell people prefer optional treatments other than the primary procedure is in the situation when modern medicine does not have a cure. To clarify, in the case of advanced stages of Cancer, it is found that oncologists can give up and leave their patients in unfavourable situations. In such a scenario, people prefer alternative medicine which can relieve them for some time. For example, such patients prefer age-old Tibetian medicine, which gives them some relief in their helpless situation and postpones their mortality. Therefore, aged-old medication could relieve people to some extent and increase their life expectancy when modern-day treatments become ineffective. However, in most cases, modern medicine has proven its effectiveness. To be more explicit, medical science is so progressed that it has medication and treatment for all known ailments with proof, and the percentage of people being relieved after treatment is more compared to people preferring unknown age-old alternatives. To conclude, most people turn to alternatives in order to prevent the side effects of modern medicine and when there is no other option. However, modern medicine has proven its efficacy on most ailments and not following its treatment is a risky and negative development.