Discuss both advantages and disadvantages of being part of a large family in the past.

It is believed that living in a large family, which included many offspring and was once prevalent in many countries, brought benefits and drawbacks simultaneously. The following essay will discuss both sides of this phenomenon and the opinion to be provided. On the one hand, juniors surrounded by siblings were likely to be equipped with essential skills. Unarguably, cooperation and communication abilities were provided more opportunities to be promoted among children via their interactions while they were working, studying or playing with one another, thereby giving them chances to better themselves and even to become thriving in their own later lives, apart from mere joy. For example, a teenager living with brothers and sisters could be more confident at school when compared with an only child due to regular association within the family. On the other hand, the financial burden, which was one of the prominent disadvantages, should be acknowledged. Undoubtedly, a larger family was synonymous with a need for greater monetary capacity; because of that, parents, as the breadwinners, had to spend more time toiling to be able to cover all expenses of the family, especially those related to the wholesomeness and decent education of their heirs, and less time caring for the children themselves, which inflicted detrimental effects on their mental well-being and even subsequent developments. For example, juveniles who did not receive enough care from their busy parents were more susceptible to mental issues, namely depression and resentment. In conclusion, the demerits of this phenomenon were eclipsed by its merits since the members of a family could support each other to overcome the problems as well as enhance the bonds among members to be ready for any upcoming challenges.