In many places, new homes are needed, but the only spaces available for building in in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new home there. What is your opinion about this?

While it is true that with an increase in the human population there are more places needed for accommodation, I completely agree with the idea that we should not build more homes in the countryside in response to urbanization demand, because rural areas need to be preserved for the ecosystem balance. On the one hand, nowadays cities are expanding more and more for various reasons. First of all, with an increase in the human population, it is inevitable that we should build new houses for new residents. As there is no more free space for construction in towns, usually the city decides to expand it to the countryside. It means that there will be more workforce and, as a result, more development in business. Moreover, job opportunities in cities are better than in small towns, while the cost of living in the countryside is more affordable than in a metropolis. Consequently, people choose to commute from rural areas to their workplaces. Finally, because of the modern lifestyle, one person living in each flat is increasing and, as a result of that, the demand for flats is higher than the supply; therefore, rural areas are the only option for many people to live. On the other hand, protecting the natural environment is essential for each society and it should not be destroyed by over-construction. I accept that the shortage of decent housing is one of the major problems for society, but using the countryside for this purpose is not a good option because this will do irreversible damage to the countryside. Trees and green plants in rural areas are part of the biodiversity that is required for any ecosystem. For example, the huge portion of carbon dioxide in the air, which is produced by exhaust fumes, can be absorbed by these plants. By preserving the suburbs, wild endangered species living in these areas will be protected. In my opinion, to address the issue of high demand for accommodation, the government can build new high-rise buildings for city-dwellers rather than expand into the countryside. In conclusion, although housing is one of the basic human needs and it must be addressed by cities’ authorities, our environment must be prioritized because it is essential for all living species.