Some people say that watching TV programmes and movies related to crime are popular. Why do you think it’s popular and how does it affect society?

Some people state that the popularity of crime TV programs and movies has significantly increased. As far as I am concerned, there is a diversity of reasons why individuals enjoy watching them. Additionally, these TV programs may trigger society’s curiosity about witnessing the ongoing enquiry that takes place at a crime scene. However, it can negatively affect sensitive people. To begin with, one of the main reasons why TV programs related to crime are worldwide popular is that they offer people the opportunity to discover unknown aspects of crimes. Besides, they are presented accurate information about the procedures followed in crime documentaries. Obviously, it is a field that is accessible to a small number of people and this is what increases the community’s interest. For example, a study shows that, since 1990, the number of crime -related TV programs viewers has considerably increased, because that was the moment when crime documentaries were made public and everybody was looking forward to watching them. On the other hand, society claims that crime movies intensify people ’s fear and anxiety. Moreover, a research illustrates that those who enjoy watching crime movies are teenagers and individuals who are looking for mystery. Clearly, they do not involve themselves emotionally when watching these movies. Undoubtedly, this is what differentiates them from other people. For instance, in Japan, a study shows that the majority of people who watched crime movies out of curiosity ended up developing severe anxiety. In conclusion, individuals consider TV programs and movies related to murder popular, because they enhance their curiosity about finding out unknown things about crimes.