The number of people being sent to prison is increasing year by year. While some people believe prison is the best way to tackle crime, others suggest that community service is more successful. Discuss, both the things and give your opinion.

This is a well-known fact that prisons are becoming overcrowded nowadays. In this essay, I shall be discussing whether jails are key to a low crime rate or whether community service helps in the improvement of gangland. Firstly, captivating culprits help maintain law and order in society, leading to better control of atrocity rates by the Government. Also, it has been observed that in some cases, when the felons are released, they are involved in another crime. Furthermore, serious offenders such as murderers and rapists are a grave threat to the community and their isolation is required. On the other hand, public service is likely to be more successful for people who are involved in felonies for the first time or are juveniles. If such persons are imprisoned, it would provide them an opportunity to acquaint themselves with dangerous felons. Absorbing petty syndicates in humanity service will give them a sense of belonging and may deter them to become the mob. For instance, my cousin got into bad company and was involved in petty shoplifting. Once he was caught and the court compelled him to neighbourhood service by teaching slum children in night school. It was a life-changing lesson for him, which made him a better person. Also, staying with his family may have resulted in a better outcome. In a nutshell, authorities can punish lawbreakers in many different ways including prison sentences and nation service, however, I believe it should be regard to their wrongdoing and the scale of their danger to society.