Competitiveness is a positive quality for people in most societies. How does competitiveness affect individuals, is it a positive or negative trend

In recent times, different attitudes have been observed to improve career growth. A strong urge to be successful is significant for the upliftment of individuals in several regions. This essay will discuss with reasons why I firmly believe that clarity of goals and appreciation of current achievements is advantageous for collective excellence. To begin with, assessment of a person's aim is pivotal to proceeding in life. This is due to the fact that for individuals to dream of particular goals one would need to evaluate one's current position. Consequently, this promotes self-assessment, thus, appreciating the present day's success. For example, research published by the Ministry of International Travels and Tourism, Lagos, Nigeria, showed that numerous students that are migrating for educational purposes are able to keep up with the challenges because they value their current academic prowess and aim to attain greater height. The above informs that, self-evaluation enhances the need to thrive excellently. Furthermore, the timely and clear envisioning of the proponent's purpose is one of the major effects of competition. This is owing to the fact that it suggests ways to narrow down specific aims in a fast-paced society where there is a variety of options. As a result of adequate focusing, a positive outcome is achieved maximally in good time as well as a tangential plan for subsequent years. For instance, a personal encounter I observed is of a friend, who studied medicine and understood that she needs to specialize in a unique area, then planned towards it from her undergraduate days at university by participating as a research assistant. To put it together, the satiety to excel enhances the rational reasoning of the populace. In conclusion, although some exponent opines that competitiveness has certain demerits and bring forth their reservations, I am of the opinion that this phenomenon is imperative for the success of individuals and the community at large.