Task 2: In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Caring for the elderly has become a worldwide issue nowadays, especially in developed countries like the US, the UK, Japan, and China. Most older people will go to caring centres where they can be taken care of by professional nurses and caregivers. In some countries, the government covers or partially subsidizes the expense. While in other countries, their national health care systems do not cover such expenses. Families will have to pay for the living costs of the elders. People have debated this topic for many decades, and there is still no absolute answer to it. To me, I consider this is a public affair, and such expense should not be afforded by individuals, at least not entirely. First, one of the purposes of establishing a national health care system is to support older people's daily life after retirement. Moving to a caring centre is a personal choice indeed, but it has become popular in recent years. More and more older people consider this a good option for their retired life. It is reasonable that such costs should be supported by our national health care system. Secondly, there is a certain population whose income is below the poverty line even before retirement. Apparently, when these people get old, they cannot afford to live a decent life solely depending on their own savings. So, this is when government should extend support to the needy for humanitarian reasons. Finally, health care for the elderly is considered a lucrative industry. As a result, some health care centres might brand themselves as luxurious and premium service providers. Government regulations, such as providing subsidies or allowance, are essential in maintaining fairness and healthy growth for the market. Ultimately, the government's involvement benefits the care providers and elderlies altogether.