3. The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that stricter punishments would prevent people from driving dangerously on the road. While some people believe that is the sole way to improve road safety, I partly disagree with it. In this essay, I will delve deep into both sides of the arguments and give out my logical conclusion. On the one hand, there is a school of thought that road safety is solely achieved by punishing offensive drivers more strictly. To elucidate, strict penalties will act as a deterrent, which make offensive drivers think twice before committing traffic violation. As a matter of fact, a lot of people have fears for losing their money, which takes them months of hard work to earn. Therefore, if payments for traffic offences are high, inhabitants will avoid driving carelessly or causing traffic accidents. For example, since the Vietnam government impose a strict fine on driving while intoxicated, the number of road accidents has decreased significantly. On the other hand, I would argue that harsh penalties for traffic offenders is not the only way to enhance road safety. A solution to this issue is providing people with aspects of laws concerning traffic. This would make them comprehend more about their responsibility while driving. Therefore, people would drive more carefully on the road, thereby reducing road accidents. In addition, more attention should be paid to safe road design. For example, signs can be used to warn people, speed bumps and road bends can be added to calm traffic, and speed cameras can help to deter people from driving too quickly. In conclusion, in order to improve road safety, it is not enough to be tough on traffic violation by punishing more stringently those who violate the law. A range of road safety measures should accompany harsher driving penalties