“Some parents believe that learning mathematics at school is redundant and should not be taught while others believe that it should remain a fundamental subject whether or not it is used later in life.” Discuss both sides.

Nowadays there is a widely spread opinion that math is not a mandatory school subject and it should not be taught in schools. However, there is another opinion, some parents consider that math should be taught even if it is not used in life. This essay will discuss both these points of view. On the one hand, math is the most difficult subject and students who are not tend to continue their education is this area struggle with it. Some scientific articles prove that in everyday life people use just basics of math and there is no need to pay such a strong attention to this subject. Furthermore, scientists assume that math classes are appropriate only for further professional education. That is why the number of parents who believe that students should be exempted from learning mathematics at schools is continuously growing. On the other hand, math has the greatest influence on human's daily life. Scientific researchers demonstrate, that learning math develops the left part of the brain, it is responsible for logics and information analyzes. Therefore, mathematics classes are the clue to a healthy mindset and improved soft skills. Moreover, mathematics provides people with a different conceptual way to view the world. For instance, it helps to compute without help of different devices. In conclusion, both points of view are right more or less. Changing school program only because of parents is an inappropriate idea. Therefore, the best decision would be to give students an opportunity to chose how many hours of math class they want to take.