It has been said, " Not everything that is learned is contained in books" . Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

over the years, two major means of acquiring information have been identified and they are either learning from one's personal experience or gaining information through reading books. Both are similar in the sense that knowledge is acquired while their difference is based on the reliability of the knowledge obtained. In this essay, I will explain further the similarity and differences mentioned earlier and make my opinion known. On the one hand, knowledge gotten from experience is similar to that acquired from books because they are both sources of information and learning takes place. This implies that knowledge is acquired. For instance, when an individual identifies a better way of doing something by continuous practice, he is said to have acquired knowledge. similarly, when someone learns a new thing by reading a book, he is said to have acquired knowledge too. Therefore, both experience and books are means of learning. On the other hand, the difference between them is based on the reliability of the knowledge obtained. Knowledge gotten from books is more reliable compared to that gotten from experience. This is because information published in books has been tested and proven to be effective. For example, before an idea can become a theory, it has to be subjected to many experiments. whereas, whatever is learned through practice is not subject to experiment rather it is based on individual opinion. In my opinion, books are the most significant source of information because their data are usually based on established facts. Before being published a book undergoes several reviews from experts in the specific discipline. They ensure the information in the book is proven and reliable. In conclusion, knowledge can be gotten either by reading books or from experience. Although both are sources of information, they differ in terms of reliability. Books contain more reliable pieces of information, hence, in my opinion, it is the most important source of information.