Planting trees is very important for the environment. Some people say trees should be planted in the vacant areas of city and towns, while others say housing facilities should be built instead. Do you agree or disagree?

Evergreens are considered vital for sustaining life on the earth owing to their importance in the purification of air, prevention of soil erosion and so on. Hence, there will be no denying the fact that seedlings are important for a sustainable future. In the current world, where people are running in a rat race to improve their living standards, there exists an argument which gives prominence to the construction of houses in vacant areas of towns and cities instead of growing some flora. I totally disagree with the aforementioned and this essay enlists the reasonable reasons behind my opinion by outlining some examples. First of all, I reckon that afforestation should be taken seriously in order to avert natural calamities, for instance, drought. As a negative repercussion of the clearing of forests for infrastructure building, annual rainfall in different parts of the world has been reduced subsequently and regions have been affected by water scarcity. According to recent studies, the removal of greenery has fastened the process of desertification around the globe. For example, the earth is losing almost 12 hectares of land every year as a result of the reckless exploitation of forest cover by human beings. Although a lot of people are living homeless and a shelter is a pre-requisite free space in urban areas has to be given for planting saplings as it is necessary to live. Secondly, apart from being an air purifier, flora has got a plethora of medicinal values that had aided in treating deadly diseases from the beginning of history. As an illustration, willow trees are a great source to reduce fever as well as inflammation, whereas, neems had proved to be effective against bacterial infections. So, to fight against vulnerable infections trees are integral. To sum up, even though housing amenities are necessary for survival, promotion of afforestation should be made without further delay as it is the key to preventing the extinction of mankind on this planet. Hence, I opine that the land left untreated should be used to plant topiary.