Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Working long hours and still having time for leisure activities are inversely related. That is, the longer one spends at work, the shorter the time for relaxation. This situation has far greater demerits than merits. Although, the benefits may include faster growth at work and constant recognition for commitment at work, the drawbacks are health issues from stress, mental health problems and strain on relationships. Despite the seeming advantages of long working hours such as faster promotion and awards, the disadvantages outweigh them greatly. Firstly, the high risk of health issues ensuing is one of the demerits of working long hours. These medical concerns are obesity, stress and poor eyesight from constantly looking at the screen. For example, I used to work long hours in 2019, and while I was awarded the best Finance Staff for that year, I became overweight as a result of not engaging in any form of exercise after sitting for so long, leading to my being diagnosed with heart problems. In addition, spending a long time working can lead to mental stress and affect the mental health of a person. The social life of one who habitually works late is not spared as well. From spending these long hours working, there is consequently little or no time left to spend with friends and loved ones. If not quickly managed, it begins to put a strain on one's relationships. Loved ones will start feeling unimportant and will naturally keep away. For instance, the marriage of the CEO of Cross Bank hit rock bottom recently, her husband stated that the reason for the divorce was mainly because of the unavailability of his wife, the CEO. Additionally, the children will grow up without having a relationship with their parents who spends all day at work. In conclusion, while the career goal to be at the top is admirable, a balance between it and other aspects of one's life should be struck at all times. Creating time for leisure activities and relationships is key as they are the focal point of one's existence.