Some people believe that children’s leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are acomplete waste of time. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Some people believe that children's leisure activities are a waste of time unless they are educational. This is a common belief amongst many parents especially in today's competitive world where every child is being pushed to their limits in terms of squeezing the most in to Join the words into show examples their brains in the shortest amount of time. However, while it may be beneficial for the little ones to take part in educational activities but doing so at all times may hinder them in the long-term rather than boosting their journey through life. I believe striking a balance between leisurely and educational pursuits is key to the child's development. While some argue the importance of monitoring and getting the most out of any task a child performs is paramount. For instance, in kindergartens children are provided with an environment filled with opportunities to learn and discovers new methods of thinking be it by solving little puzzled or making a castle with blocks. In my experience, when I was teaching kindergarteners in China for one year, not having a plan for the day and letting the little kids lead without any guidance would ensue pure chaos. In contrast, carefully taking them through various tasks in a monitored environment ends up in them having fun and at the same time absorbing new ways to utilise objects around them. Therefore, it is believed that children absorb their surroundings and every event they take part in should have an enlightening aspect to it. On the other hand, those in favour of leaving toddlers to their own imagination often signify the importance of the kids' independence and free thinking. For example, I have two nephews each from a different brother. Interestingly, one of them is carefully monitored throughout the day with his parents constantly trying to educate him into being a useful individual in the family and make use of himself through attempting worthwhile tasks. Despite that, he is usually unhappy and not willing to comply with his parents. Conversely, the other nephew has more freedom. Although, monitored but not as much as his cousin. As a result, he exhibits a positive interest in doing house chores by mirroring his parents ' behaviour. In conclusion, it is crucial to find a balance between play and schooling. By finding a sweet spot the young ones can keep an interest in the task at hand all the while being tutored in different aspects.