It is often said that the subjects taught in schools are too academic in orientation and that it would be more useful for children to learn about practical matters such as home management, work and interpersonal skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The content of which topics should be taught in academies is important in determining the quality of our children's education. Many are of the opinion that current content is too rigid and that new subjects such as home care and personal development classes should be emphasized. I partially agree with this statement. To begin with, classic methods of education are not void of value. Topics such as mathematics, biology, and chemistry hold tremendous value. Simply because these subjects are used in all walks of life. For example, in order to for someone to be able to deal with personal finances he/she requires an adequate understanding of math. Furthermore, if this person wishes to have a bank account he/she needs to have knowledge about how interest rates work which requires mathematics. On the other hand, teaching personal development in school will help build adults with the ability to handle various burdens of life. For example, students will learn how to better manage their time or how to dissolve conflict. This will help them in school work, personal relationships and mental health. Such skills will stay with them for most of their lives and help build a more cohesive society. To conclude, I believe that both views have merit. Instead of removing classic academical content and replacing it with newer material, we should simply just add these to existing curriculums.